INFORMATION ABOUT INGREDIENTS ON FOODS, TOOTHPASTE, SOAP ETC.
We hope that this information will be of great use to you and that you will read the ingredient on every product before you make your purchase. If in doubt, you may write to the company. They have been very helpful in providing the requested information.
CONSULTATION OF COMPANIES
Here are the results of consultations done with various food companies. No particular questions were asked about products that may contain alcohol.
L.D. Schrieber Cheese Company: No shortening, lard, gelatin or lecithin used.
Cow products are used HALAL
Burger King Corporation: Shortening used in from swine = HARAMLard is used in buns and apple pie = HARAMLecithin is used in buns =HARAMBecause you are not sure.Shakes = HALALGeneral Goods: Lard is used on Swan Down Cake mixes. Gelatin (from collagen-bearing tissues of any animal) is used in many products including Jell-O Brad Gelatin Desert = HARAM
Knox Gelatin Inc.: Knox Gelatin is prepared from the protein collagen, which is extracted from either beef (bones and skin) or PORK (SKINS) =HARAMAmerican Lecithin Company: Our lecithin is derived from soybeans and is sold under the trade name Alcoles = HALAL
Nestle: A list was sent to MSA confirming that their products do not contain any animal by-product. Lecithin used in their products is derived from Soybeans = HALAL
General Mills Inc.: Shortening similar to lard is used, also Soya lecithin is used =HARAM(Because it does not say Soya or lard and you don't know so it is better to avoid)Quaker Oats: Soybean lecithin is used. Shortening used is from swine. Some of the products are MASA Trigo, Flako pie crust and cup cake mix.SEVERAL TERMSA. Derived from pork or other animalBacon Ham Sausage Lard Fat Gelatin Shortening (animal). B. Avoid - doubtful (may be derived from animal or vegetable):Lecithin Emulsifier Dough conditioners Mono and diglycerides Enzymes or rennet in cheese
C. You can use: HALALSoya-lecithin Soybean lecithin Vegetable lecithin Vegetable shortening Vegetable mono and diglyceriders Vegetable enzymes or rennetless cheese.
Fish. D. Avoid may contain alcohol Artificial and imitation extracts and flavorings
E. When you see these letters:"U" or "K" they may mean that the produce does not contain anything from an animal.
come & please come again & again...
8 years ago